|Ðð©'§ Pay-Per-Click Advertising Information Library|
How Much Should You Pay for a Click
You have a web site ready for action. Your product catalog, order tracking, credit card payment system, and fulfillment process are all in place. Now all you need is traffic! Many web entrepreneurs have learned that the magic nut to crack is attraction: get a steady flow of customers who explore your site and eventually purchase goods. The overhead costs of most web businesses are minimal relative to brick and mortar stores. However, the variable marketing costs can over shadow sales revenues by orders of magnitudes. Unfortunately, unlike the saying in the movie Field of Dreams, "If you build it, they will not come!" Luckily, the industry has learned this lesson; some the hard way, and others in spite of the losers. Dot-coms are clearly not the darlings of the capital markets any longer; however, there is still money to be made! If you plan to start a web business or already have one but are not sure how to increase traffic and make money at the same time, you should consider a science-driven approach. What does that mean? Read on?
How to Lose $500 in 12 Hours
One weekend, my business partner and I created an affiliate commerce site. The site comprised a list of links to other online retailers. People go to our site, pick a link to a jewelry store for example, buy something, and in turn we receive a commission from the sale. The process of creating the site, signing up the affiliate agreements, and turning it on was a cinch. The cost was virtually nothing. We, being new to this whole web business concept, thought we had an incredibly smart marketing idea: pay to have our site come up in an ad box on a major search engine (Google) every time someone searched on the word "gifts". The word gifts is searched for 49,000 times per day! We figured we would have a good flow of visitors and the money would start rolling in. For certain, we would at least break even. We sunk $500 in one day and let it rip. Here's what happened:
Our investment in Google - $ 500
The whole process took less than 12 hours. At least we learned a lesson quickly at a relatively low cost. Let's look at this event from a slightly different perspective, putting the costs in terms of number of visitors:
Our investment in Google - $ 500
We were basically giving $1 away for each visitor that came to the site. Not a winning business model. However, taking this information, we can assess which marketing techniques can work best for the business. Let's add 2 additional critical data points to our table:
Our investment in Google - $ 500
Running the Numbers
Putting this all together, you can create a formula for estimating the gross margin per visitor for a specific marketing campaign:
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = Average revenue per visitor - Advertising Cost per Visitor
Advertising Cost per Visitor = Campaign Costs /(Impressions x Click-through rate)
Average revenue per visitor = Conversion rate x Average sale per purchase
Putting it together:
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (Conversion rate x Average sale per purchase) ? (Campaign Costs / Impressions x Click-through rate)
Using our Google example, the average gross margin per visitor would be calculated as:
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (0.023 x $ 7.7) - $500 / (36,964 x 016) = (0.99)
Remember, this formula can only be used for a single type of campaign. Depending upon your target audience and the type of campaign, all of the above variables can change. When we launched our Google campaign, we used impression-based advertising, that is, we paid Google a certain amount of money for every 1,000 impressions of our ad (about $15 per 1,000 impressions in our example). However, just because our ad was displayed inside someone's browser did not mean they would click on the ad itself.
Enter pay-per-click advertising. This advertising model allows you to pay for an ad only when a person actually clicks on it. In this model, you are guaranteed to get visitors. However, the cost per click is usually much higher. Let us assume we ran our same Google campaign except we used pay-per-click advertising. Pay-per-click also factors in position which will drive the amount you pay per click (the higher the ad position on the screen, the higher the price per click will be). Let's say we pay google $0.50 per click and based on Google's traffic for the word gifts, we receive 170 clicks per day (or visitors), or in total 1000 visitors over the life of the campaign (we still only put in $500, so $500/$0.50 = 1000). Using our same ratios, let us re-compute our Average Gross Margin per Visitor, modifying our formula slightly (notice the formula is simpler):
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (Conversion rate x Average sale per purchase) ? (Campaign Costs / Visitors)
Plugging in the numbers:
Average Gross Margin per Visitors = (.023 x $ 7.7) - ($500 / 1000) = (0.32)
If we used a pay-per-click advertising model, we could have saved $100. Either way, we would have lost money, but imagine if we had started with $5,000 instead of $500. The nice feature of pay-per-click is that you know ahead of time how many visitors you will receive. If you know your conversion rate and your average sale, you can modify the formula to determine the most you should pay for a pay-per-click campaign:
Max Pay-per-click = (Conversion rate x Average Sale per purchase)
In our Google example, our maximum pay-per-click should be $0.18. For every penny we pay less than our maximum pay-per-click, we're making money! Unfortunately, as of this writing, the minimum pay-per-click cost for the word "gifts" on Google is $0.37. The ultimate lesson is that for this particular site, the Google marketing campaign will not generate sales revenues. But is that really true? We could increase our conversion rate and our average sale per purchase. We could increase our conversion rate by optimizing the design of the web pages. We could increase our average sale per purchase by entering affiliate agreements that offer higher commissions. Let's say we used the $0.37 pay-per- click model on Google for our gift site. In order to make money we would have to get our average revenue per visitor to at least $0.38. If we just focused on our conversion rate, we would need to increase the percentage of visitors who make a purchase to 4.9%. If we left conversion rate alone, we would need to increase the average sale per purchase to $16.50. Alternatively, we could try and increase them both.
Not All Ad Models Are Created Equal
Using the same model, let's look at a different type of campaign: newsletter advertising. This form of advertising involves placing an ad embedded in a newsletter that is distributed to a subscriber base via email. The model for calculating average gross margin per visitor is exactly the same as impression based, except your target market is different. For example, let us say we spend $1,000 to place an ad in an email newsletter about shopping tips. And let's say the newsletter reaches 500,000 subscribers. If we used the same click-through rates and conversion rates, our average gross margin per visitor would be:
Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (.023 x $ 7.7) ? $1000 / (500,000 x 0116) = $0.004
We're making money!! (not much, but the margin is positive). Translation: this campaign brings us under a half a penny per visitor. Another helpful ratio is to calculate the return on your advertising dollar:
Return of Advertising = [(Impressions x Click-through rate x Conversion rate x Average sale per purchase) ? Campaign Cost] / Campaign Cost
Or in our case:
Return of Advertising = [(500,000 x .0116 x .023 x $ 7.7) ? $1000] / $1000 = 2.7%. Translation: you're making 2.7 cents in gross revenue for every dollar of advertising you spend. Also keep in my mind that this newsletter reaches a different target audience. While people on Google may casually look for gifts, the recipients of a shopping newsletter may have a higher tendency to buy (i.e. your conversion rate may be higher). If your conversion rate were higher, let's say 3%, your new average gross margin per visitor becomes $0.05!! or a 34% return on our dollar.
The Bottom Line
Using formulas to compute the success of marketing plans is extremely helpful and reduces the risk of throwing away precious advertising dollars. However, understand that each marketing campaign will differ based on cost per click, conversion rates, target audience, and average sales per purchase. I encourage you to track all the data available about your marketing campaigns so you can realize profits instead of losses.
Marketing on the web can be difficult. Predicting the behavior of surfers is an art unto itself. Before you begin spending a lot of money on advertising, experiment with different types of campaigns, track all of the results, and make future marketing decisions based on real customer behavior. Also keep in mind that there are other, free forms of advertising. Writing articles, participating in newsgroups, print advertising, and email marketing are other examples. Remember that all of these marketing techniques will have different click-through rates, conversion rates, and revenues per visitor.
About The Author
Andy Quick is co-founder of Findmyhosting.com (http://www.findmyhosting.com), a free web hosting directory offering businesses and consumers a hassle free way to find the right hosting plan for their needs. Feel free to contact Andy at firstname.lastname@example.org in case you have any questions or comments regarding this article.
Price Your ClickBank Products for Maximum Profit
Choosing the right price for your digital products is one of the most critical, yet difficult, aspects of your business strategy.
Successful Pay Per Click Ad Copy
Writing outstanding ad copy for pay-per-click advertising campaigns is critical if a webmaster wants to be successful. Why waste money on clicks from people who aren't going to buy what a webmaster has to sell? To be as targeted as possible descriptive titles and effective ad copy are needed. Since the webmaster is paying for each click it's very important to have ad copy which conveys the right message to the right person. The challenge is the small area available from most advertising networks like Google (AdWords) or Yahoo! (Overture).
Google Adwords Guide II - Why Use Negative Keywords
When you are running a Google AdWords campaign, it is important to include negative keywords. You should consider the use of negative keywords if some of the keywords or keyword phrases in your campaign are broad and generic. Negative keywords will prevent an ad from being shown on a publisher's website if the negative keywords are in the search phrase/text area that Google uses to match ads and content.
You Wont Make Dollars If You Dont use AdSense
As the dust settles and the excitement caused by Google's AdSense gives way to the normal, everyday routines of old, it's time to put some serious thought into how you can "milk this cash cow" on your own web site.
Want Higher Adsense Earnings? Then Optimize Site Navigation
Webmasters know that Adsense generates a sizeable source of additional advertising income. That's why they're using it to go after the "high paying keywords." They've bought the lists that tell them what these keywords are and they've used various other methods of identifying them. And yet, after putting up these "high paying" pages on their websites, the advertising money they expected to see isn't rolling in. What's wrong?
What is Google AdSense?
In the mid 1990's websites used to earn income by receiving money from advertisers by publishing or allowing companies to deploy a banner ad campaign on your website. Usually these banners would be brilliantly designed to catch the eye of the consumer along with a short message. The website in turn would receive a tiny profit from a click-through, which was when a customer actually clicked on the banner and went into the website and purchased the product. This was considered traffic-driven income. It was the industry standard until Google came along.
What They Never Told You About Adsense!
That's right! Many webmasters are getting suckered into joining adsense in hopes of earning quick cash. What they aren't being told is that it's harder than that.
PPC Advertising Explained
Advertising on the Internet has always been a bit of a minefield for people being new to online advertising. Banner advertising, text link advertising, CPM, CPA, PPC, email advertising, SPAM - finding the way through this minefield can be very confusing and expensive if the advertiser does not what he is doing. When Pay-Per-Click advertising entered the market the advertisers gained a big piece of control.
ClickBank Affiliate Woes: When Tracking Breaks Down
Hardly a day goes by without a forum posting in which ClickBank is challenged about the reliability and integrity of its affiliate referral tracking mechanism - the hoplink system. It cannot be denied that ClickBank's technical infrastructures do not always inspire the greatest level of confidence. But this article sets out to demonstrate that a range of factors play a part in the integrity of affiliate tracking and any one of these can be the cause of those much-reviled commission losses.
What is Google AdSense?
AdSense may be one of the fastest and easiest ways to monetize traffic to your web site whether you have products or services for sale or you simply provide free content to your visitors.
How to Master Google AdWords - Part 1
Then most difficult aspect of marketing a new product or web site is to find enough people that are interested in it so that they are ready to buy. Mastering Google AdWords will enable you to drive traffic to your web site and start making sales immediately. You can create a Google AdWord campaign in a matter of minutes and be making sales within 24 hours.
Plan Your Way to Pay-Per-Click Campaign Success!
Have you heard the saying, "planning is everything?" Perhaps there is some truth in that saying so let's discover how to successfully plan your pay-per-click campaign.
The Secret to Adwords Success
It seems at the moment that everybody is telling you that the easiest and quickest way to make money online is with Google Adwords and affiliate programs.
Choosing the Right Strategy for Your Online Business: Pay for Inclusion vs Pay per Click
Back in the old days of the Internet - in 1993, - there were 284 locations on the entire World Wide Web. According to Bill Clinton, only 8 of them ended in .com or .net when he was sworn into office. As of January 1, 2003, there were 171,000,000 domain hosts in use. In 1995, the largest search engine database was Altavista, and it had most of the Internet categorized. Today Google and FASTsearch own the largest databases. Yet neither one of them has even 10% of the Internet covered. It's estimated that more than 8,000,000 web pages are added to the Internet every day. None of the search engines are able to keep up to that pace. So how will your website stand out? How will it acquire the traffic it needs to succeed? There are many ways to approach the issue of marketing an online business, but for the sake of this article, we'll concern ourselves solely with online tools, and ways to expedite success. In that vein, we'll concern ourselves with Pay for Inclusion and Pay for Placement (or Pay per Click) advertising.
The New Google Ad Links
You know about Google Adsense, now it's Google Ad Links for Google Adsense publishers.
How to Profit from Knowing the Most Expensive Keywords
By knowing the most expensive keywords on the internet, you can create websites and web pages based on these keywords. On these sites and pages, you can serve expensive ads and/or promote affiliate offers that reap high bounties when clicked or completed.
A Smart Trick for Attracting Higher Paying AdSense Ads
There are no guarantees in life, so I don't guarantee that following these tips will bring you more money every time. However, I do guarantee that they will greatly increase your chances of pulling more of the top-paying AdSense ads to your site than if you don't follow these suggestions.
Profit from Adsense with Adwords
Here's a feisty trick where you can profit from Adsense with the use of Adwords. First you need to find a high paying keyword. It is better if the keyword you will find is worth more than $20 so you're EPC(Earnings per click) would average anywhere from 1$ to 10$. This is just a guess because Google doesn't disclose its revenue share with website owners but many claim its 50%.
Seven Strategies to Bolster Your AdWords Campaign
So, you've tried all the marketing techniques you have read about, and you're now ready to dabble on some pay per click magic. But this form of online wizardry needs more than just a sleight of hand, as it requires careful planning and a good sense of what should be expected.
Tips for Maximizing AdSense Revenue
Google's AdSense program is probably the best affiliate program on the internet today. With it's content scanning algorithm to adjust advertising and the fact it takes in to account the users location as best as it can, it has proven to be one of the highest converting click through programs to date.
|Home | Site Map|
|Copyright © 2005-2007 - Ðð©'§ pcMedix Computer Group Help Sites. All Rights Reserved.|